A Season of Change

Well I’ve been away from this blog for a while now haven’t I? Spoiler alert: I have.

The last post on this blog was published on the eighth of April 2015, almost two years ago.  Honestly, it doesn’t feel like it was three years ago that I first wrote on this blog, about the Haiku, then about Catherines… God, it’s been a while. More than it has been a while in time, it has been a while for me as a person. A lot of people have came and went in my life and this has shaped my writing quite a lot too. But I’ll talk about that later, now, about my life first.

2015 is all a blur to me, a lot of things happened, one of the big things was that I started talking to someone from very far away, which encouraged me to find more friends from far away. It was around August I believe, that I started talking to a girl from Mongolia and she’s one of my closest friends to this day. Talking to her, learning about Mongolian culture, traditions, the language – it has been an incredibly eye-opening experience and I’m so glad I did indeed start talking to her, because without her, I don’t think I’d have as many people around me as I do now.

2016 is a bit more vivid. My personal life took a complete U-turn, my personality changed, I had a whole lot of psychic things to deal with and this period had the biggest impact on my writing.
Previously, I’d write with my world-view still not solidified, as is visible from my “The Old Man” which explores most of all my view of religion, heck I might go back and analyse that just to show you some hidden quirks of the piece, but it also explores death – more specifically death of one’s parent(s). I personally don’t have the warmest relationship with my parents, it’s not a bad relationship by a long shot, but I never was really close to either of my parents and that piece explores that idea. How much would the death of a loved one touch me, if I weren’t that close with the person?
Away from death and depression, on a positive note I got out of a massive rut in my life – mental health. Finally, I managed to beat everything with the help of a brilliant person, I won’t name her because she doesn’t read, or even know about, this blog, but she deserves to be praised for helping me grow. I won’t go into detail on my mental health but I can say with confidence: for me, now, every day is a good day and I can wake up and smile and talk to people and make them happy and finally, I know my purpose.

And that makes me quite damn happy.

My personality type also changed because of this, I previously was quite introverted, but just a month back I scored a 99% openness percentile on a psychological exam, as well as a 92% extroversion percentile. Pretty damn significant!
Honestly, I’ve come to absolutely adore human interaction, when previously I’d rarely enjoy it, only if it were very specific and comfortable for me, but nowadays, I talk with everyone all the damn time. Honestly, I’m starting to think I might be annoying people… This has led to my life growing to new heights, I work multiple jobs, I have a group of people who support me and multiple projects that are heading in the right direction. God damn!

Now then, about my writing.
I’ve actually finished a book in those two years I took a break from blogging! It’s pretty shit. So yeah, I finished it and started editing it, realised it was bad and started rewriting it, then gave up and started another book, this time with more planning. So one thing hasn’t changed about my writing: I’m still shit at finishing things and editing them. I’m working on two projects right now. The first, which is the one I’ll be talking about the most on this blog is a book that’s going to be a collection of thoughts in the form of essays and short stories, much the like of “The Old Man” and prose in the style of “Crossword” – I want to stick to prose. All these essays  will reflect the world and its phenomena as I see them – through the eyes of a young man. The working title, is Age of a Young Man. I might stick with it but who knows. I’ll be posting an essay from the manuscript in the following days, I’m interested in what the response will be.
Now then my second writing project is one that I’ll keep in secret for now, but I can tell you this much: I have written about 20 thousand words of a fantasy novel. It’s set in our contemporary world and I want to keep as much about it hidden, because it’s not a final version and I also want my ideas to stay abstract and not solidify them as words on a blog post (words on a page sounds much more massive, whatever, guess I could print this post and they would be words on a page). But what I can tell you! The story follows a young man who has a curious pet – a raven that follows him around and seems quite smart. Then, one night, the bird beckons him to follow outside his bedroom window and out and away, changing his life forever. ClichĂ© or not? You decide.

That’s all for me for today, to my returning readers: Hello! And thank you for sticking around. To any new readers: Hey! It’s great to have you on board!
As always, I love to reply to your comments so don’t hesitate to write one!
That’s it for now, until next time!
-S.

Leave a Reply

